April in the wings, an elusive ending, and Deep Down Dark…

IMG_0817Roused from my work on my novel, I just realized that the blustery month of March is just about finished, which means that the annual guessing game as to what kind of weather we’ll be having around these parts is soon to begin. Will we be able to have morning coffee on the deck before much longer? This is critical, you know!

Yep, the calendar says that it’s officially spring, but we in northern Illinois know better than to put much stock in April’s arrival ushering in warm days full of blooming flowers and trees and lawns magically greening up. Instead, we can be sure that heavy jackets and hats will be necessary at times, which makes it rather difficult to become inspired to get out there and spread the first treatment of weed-n-feed or tend to the cluttered garage. But I’m steeling myself to get my spring tasks completed despite what Mother Nature will throw at us.

But, hark! April is waiting in the wings to give us at least an illusion that we’re through with the brunt of winter’s wrath and that those shorts-and-tee shirt-days are on the way. How soon, though, is the real question. The common saying around here is that the one thing that is predictable about spring weather is that it is quite unpredictable!

Now, I’ve done enough harping about the weather, so I’ll let it go and get back to work on that elusive conclusion to Birchwood’s Secret (originally titled Sandbar’s Secret). I’m resigned to the fact that a massive rewrite is in order for the conclusion to develop. And so it goes…

* * *

Unknown-1My writing struggles aside, I’ve also been reading a very stirring non-fiction book about the thirty-three Chilean miners who were trapped in a copper mine over 2,000 feet below ground in 2010. Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, October 2014) is one of those books that is good—yet challenging—for a claustrophobic such as I to read. Knowing that the outcome is a good one makes it a bit easier, yet author Héctor Tobar has created a good deal of nerve-racking tension throughout as he brings to light the stories of these unfortunate brave Chilean miners and their families. I recommend that one not read this book prior to going to bed, although it’s hard to put down.

How about you? Is there a book you’ve read that you’ve enjoyed, but yet made you squirm a bit?

6 thoughts on “April in the wings, an elusive ending, and Deep Down Dark…

  1. ‘Doctor Sleep’ by Stephen King comes to mind. It didn’t make me squirm because it scared me (alas, most books don’t anymore), but the antagonist preys on children, and that always makes me uncomfortable. Luckily, King didn’t go into detail other than one hard-to-read page. If he had, I would have had to close the book for good. But it was a great read otherwise.

    1. I’m not familiar with King’s DOCTOR SLEEP, but there are a few others of his that are downright “squirmy,” PET SEMATARY, especially! I read once that it was the only book King had trouble writing all the way through. Thanks for checking in, Carrie. 🙂

      1. Thanks, Carrie. I’ll have to read that as THE SHINING (the book) is my all-time King favorite. I’d kind of lost track of the planned “sequel” I’d heard was in the works quite a while ago.

    1. Hi, Jill! Yep, those two examples are definitely right up there in the “don’t-read-late-at-night department.” I’ve read them both and seen the movies made from both. Memorable to say the least! 🙂 P.S.-We do have a great view from the deck, looking out over several acres of wonderful, rich DeKalb County Illinois farmland.

Add your thoughts or comments to our journey...

