First “dings” and other thoughts…

Hemlock and Maple Island, on Magician Lake, Do...
Hemlock and Maple Island, on Magician Lake, Dowagiac, Mich. (Photo credit: Boston Public Library)

Last week I wrote about the wonderful experience of purchasing a 2014 Chevy Equinox and all of the tech stuff that comes right along with it. I am very pleased with everything about it (though I miss my 2001 Ford Ranger!) and I have grown comfy with how things work and all of the “hands free” technology that is very nice.

And as sure as death and taxes, my new vehicle received its first “ding” or very slight dent in the driver’s-side door. For one brief shining moment, I felt as though the whole thing was ruined, tarnished forever after, and that it had been de-flowered so unjustly!

Actually, this tragedy occurred shortly after my grandson’s soccer game Saturday morning. In his haste to climb into the front seat of his dad’s F-150, the large door swung just enough to catch the side of my car, which I had thought I’d parked a safe distance away for that to happen.

I got over it and realized that it had to happen sooner or later, but I’d hoped that maybe this would be the one car that would escape all of that. But, there’s no escaping the inevitable, and now I can put that “fear” all behind me and get on with things.

Magician Lake, Dowagiac, Mich.
Magician Lake, Dowagiac, Mich. (Photo credit: Boston Public Library)

I’ll be loading our two cars on Thursday for our annual migration to the cottage on Magician Lake up in Michigan, and I’m certain that I’ll probably add a “ding” or scratch of my own!….CortlandWriter

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “First “dings” and other thoughts…

  1. Well, I suppose it’s bound to happen eventually. Better your grandson than a careless stranger in a parking lot. I’ve seen shopping carts blow across parking lots and right into cars because of lazy people who won’t return them.
    Have a safe trip!

    1. Thanks, Jill. I, too, have seen those careless folks leave shopping carts anywhere they please and cringe at the thought of the damage they can do. But that’s a topic for another time. 🙂

  2. Oh, so sorry to hear it! For me, that’s one of the most stressful parts of getting a new car–waiting for that first ding. (Well, that and trying to master the technology.) But once it happens, there is kind of a relief, and as you point out, we can finally put that fear behind us and move on. 🙂

    1. Carrie: I think you are right about realizing that “what’s done, is done,” and to get over worrying about senseless things such as a “ding” and get on with our lives. How silly we all are! 🙂

  3. There is definitely a type of relief when the first ding on the car, the first dirt track on the new floor, the first broken dish of the new set etc. etc. occurs. Things need to get worn in to be comfortable. Enjoy the lake – it looks beautiful.

    1. Thanks, Fran. The lake is beautiful, and the “place” where I get my year’s writing revised and developed. I am eager to get back there this weekend, where I will spend the summer–morning coffee on the porch; trusty MacBook at the ready! 🙂

Add your thoughts or comments to our journey...

