9-11…A thought

 

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...
September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: View of the World Trade Center and the Statue of Liberty. (Image: US National Park Service ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Eleven years ago today, I was in the middle of teaching a 6th grade health class (strange, since I was an English teacher!) when the frantic aide entered the room and told us about what had just happened in New York City to the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center. Neither I nor my students could quite grasp what exactly she was trying to tell us, but it didn’t take long once we turned on the TV and immediately became immersed in the very tragic story, as unbelievable as it was!

 

All these years later, I often think about those young, innocent, and impressionable kids who were in my charge in that classroom that morning and wonder what paths and directions their lives have taken. Most, I am sure, went on to college and–it is hoped–found worthwhile professions and livelihoods afterwards. And through it all, does that bright and sunny morning of September 11, 2001, ever enter their minds and where they were–my classroom–when the tumultuous news entered all of our lives?

 

I think of them often–particularly every September 11. I hope they are all well…CortlandWriter

 

2 thoughts on “9-11…A thought

Add your thoughts or comments to our journey...

