The Effects of Weather on My Writing “Mood”

A great day to write!

I seem to write about this topic frequently in my blogs, and I suppose it’s because I am one of those who is heavily influenced by different kinds of weather. On those winter days, when the sun wastes no time in rising brightly and staying with us the whole day, I am less motivated to sit inside at my writing desk and focus on my current writing project(s). Instead, I’ll take the gloom and drear of a cloudless, sunless day, with some kind of precipitation thrown in for good measure.

For whatever reason, I have always been more productive–in school as a kid or, later, as a classroom teacher–and now in my retirement as a writer when the weather has been quite miserable. The outside atmosphere doesn’t really cause me to write only about sad and desolate things, but I simply feel more inspired to get into the art of writing when the day is devoid of blue skies and puffy white, lazy clouds.

Now, I think I’ll enjoy the remainder of this gray, chilly day and get some writing accomplished!

2 thoughts on “The Effects of Weather on My Writing “Mood”

    1. Thanks, Robert. Not only does weather affect my mood, but it also plays a major role in my writing sessions. As I’ve found, I much prefer those dark, dreary, rainy mornings to accomplish my writing for the day. And there’s nothing too bad about one of those winter storms that rage and howl outside while I am nestled safely and comfortably inside.

Add your thoughts or comments to our journey...

